Événements virtuels

L'université internationale de Floride accueille avec succèsune "foire aux ressources" via Airmeet

Nishchal Dua
• juillet 8, 2020
United Nations Association in Canada
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur whatsapp
Partager sur twitter
Vue d'ensemble
Cas d'utilisation:
Foire virtuelle
Nom de l'événement:
Salon des ressources universitaires
Nom de la communauté:
Université internationale de Floride
Segment de l'industrie:
Éducation

La Florida International University (FIU), à Miami, est classée parmi les 50premières universités publiques nationales américaines et se concentre sur laréussite d'environ 58 000 étudiants. 

Le Center for Student Engagement Department est l'un des nombreuxdépartements de la FIU, et il s'efforce de trouver la meilleure adéquation pourses étudiants afin de créer des affinités avec l'institution. Le département aété chargé de planifier l'événement "semaine de convocation", et la "foire auxressources" de l'université était l'un des événements prévus pour la semaine. 

L'un des principaux objectifs de la "foire aux ressources" est d'atteindre lesnouveaux étudiants et de leur fournir une plate-forme pour rassembler lesressources nécessaires pour mener une vie universitaire sur le campusréussie. Elle permet de faire démarrer l'apprentissage en mettant les étudiantsen contact avec des représentants de plus de 30 départements au servicedes étudiants, notamment les départements d'aide à l'enseignement et à la carrière, les départements des affaires étudiantes et les départements desanté, de bien-être et de sécurité des étudiants. 

Airmeet Lounge

Défis (et solutions)

Hazel Hooker, directrice de programme au Center for Student Engagement,FIU, déclare : "Lorsque nous avons commencé à planifier la "foire auxressources", nous étions préoccupés par la transition vers un cadre virtueltout en maintenant la même expérience pour les départements et lesétudiants. Dans nos foires en physique typiques, nous réservons une grandesalle de bal et nous installons des tables pour les différents départementsparticipants.

En fonction du nombre de départements qui acceptent notre invitation, nousétablissons un plan d'étage et planifions chaque besoin. Le jour del'événement, les étudiants entrent et font le tour pour rencontrer les différentsservices et résoudre leurs questions.

Nous avons commencé à chercher la bonne plateforme technologique quinous aiderait à transformer un tel événement en un événement virtuel. Aprèsquelques recherches, nous avons découvert qu'Airmeet soutenait déjà degrandes foires et nous avons été ravis de l'explorer".

Voyons comment la FIU a mis en place une foire virtuelle à grande échelle etcomment vous pourriez utiliser ces enseignements et tirer parti d'Airmeet pourdes événements similaires.

Airmeet Lounge Attendees

Défi 1 : Pivoter vers des événements virtuelsen toute transparence avec le "SocialLounge"

Lorsque le Center for Student Engagement a imaginé de déplacer son cadred'événements physiques avec la mise en place de tables dans unenvironnement virtuel, il avait besoin d'une plateforme offrant des tablesvirtuelles. Ils ne voulaient pas que la structure de l'événement soit une sériede conférences ou de tables rondes, car cela aurait changé toute ladynamique de l'événement.

Solution:

Hazel explique : "Pour organiser un événement, nous devons généralementtravailler avec des installations, disposer des tables, respecter les normes despompiers et prendre en considération beaucoup de logistique. Avec Airmeet,cependant, cela est devenu rapide et sans tracas.

Le "Social Lounge" d'Airmeet était notre grande salle de bal, et la mise enplace des tables virtuelles reproduisait l'expérience d'un événement physique.Nous avons juste eu besoin de le personnaliser pour qu'il réponde à nosbesoins. Les représentants des départements devaient simplement se joindreà la réunion, prendre place aux tables virtuelles et parler aux étudiants via lavidéoconférence en direct activée sur chaque table. C'est aussi simple quecela. Nous avons reçu des commentaires très positifs de tous lesdépartements sur la qualité de l'expérience. Cela a époustouflé tout lemonde".

Voici ce qui a rendu cela possible -

  • Social Lounge: La fonction "Social Lounge" d'Airmeet vous permet de vousconnecter avec les participants sur la même table via un flux en direct. Cettepuissante fonction vous permet d'organiser une foire avec plusieurs stands.Elle a été particulièrement bénéfique pour la FIU car elle permet desconversations intimes entre les départements et les étudiants avec la vidéosur la table. Une fois que les étudiants en avaient fini avec un département, ilspouvaient passer au suivant et ainsi explorer l'ensemble de l'espace social.

    La fonction "Social Lounge" est également remarquable car elle offre denombreuses possibilités de personnalisation. Vous pouvez configurer lenombre de tables, le nom des tables et même le nom du salon.

    La FIU a renommé le "Salon social" "Salon des ressources universitaires". Ilsont créé plus de 30 tables pour différents départements et ont nommé chaquetable en conséquence.

    Le "Social Lounge" numérote automatiquement chaque table. Cela leur apermis de créer un plan d'étage, semblable à un événement physique, à lafois pour les départements et les étudiants, ce qui a permis aux étudiants delocaliser plus facilement l'endroit où ils devaient se rendre. Comme les tablessont numérotées et que leurs titres sont modifiables, le plan d'étage a permisde tout expliquer et de structurer l'événement pour tous. Il est assez facile etrapide de créer un décor de table et cela ne nécessite aucune assistancelogistique.

Florida International University Resource Fair
  • Streaming HD en temps réel : le streaming vidéo et audio de haute qualitérend l'expérience extrêmement professionnelle et permet aux participants derester concentrés sur l'objectif de l'événement.
  • Inscription simple et sécurisée : Pour l'inscription et l'autorisation desparticipants, toute personne possédant le lien peut s'inscrire à l'événement.C'était beaucoup plus facile que de télécharger des milliers de noms departicipants potentiels. La sécurité était également assurée, car personne nepouvait bloquer l'événement.
  • Partage d'écran : Airmeet permet le partage d'écran dans le "SocialLounge". Il rend les présentations et les démonstrations de produits plusimmersives et plus attrayantes. Pour la FIU, cela a été particulièrement utilecar les représentants des départements ont pu partager leur écran et mieuxguider les étudiants.
  • Fonctionnalités d'engagement: Bien que l'événement "Social Lounge" soitactif, Airmeet offre toujours la possibilité d'envoyer des SMS grâce à sesfonctions "Chat Box" et "Q&R". Les départements peuvent facilement partagerdes liens de ressources via la "Chat Box" au lieu d'imprimer et de distribuerdes documents.

    Chaque département a créé un dossier en ligne distinct pour distribuer desdocuments tels que des brochures, des dépliants, d'autres ressources et l'aenvoyé aux étudiants sous forme de lien dans la "Chat Box". L'ensemble del'événement est passé en douceur au mode virtuel et est devenu écologiqueen prime. 

"In order to transform a resource fair into a virtual event, we started looking for the right technology platform. After some research, we found that Airmeet supports huge fairs through the ‘social lounge’ feature and we were thrilled to explore it."

– Hazel Hooker, Program Director, Center for Student Engagement, Florida International University

“In order to transform a Resource Fair into a virtual event, we started looking for the right technology platform. After some research, we found that Airmeet supports huge fairs through the ‘social lounge’ feature and we were thrilled to explore it.”​

Hazel Hooker, Program Director Tweet

Défi 2 : Adaptation à la technologie

Selon Hazel, "Apprendre une nouvelle technologie peut être un défi pourcertains. Mais en vérité, Airmeet était très facile à utiliser. Même avecdifférents niveaux d'expertise technique, nous avons réussi à le faire utiliserpar tout le monde sans aucun problème. Pour s'assurer que tout le monde aitbien compris les instructions et que les personnes qui ont manqué ladémonstration connaissaient bien la plate-forme, nous avons créé un guidepas à pas".

Solution:

  • Facile à utiliser : Airmeet fonctionne sur tous les navigateurs web moderneset ne nécessite aucun composant téléchargeable pour rejoindre ou accueillirun événement. Cela rend la plateforme inclusive pour tous. Les représentantsdes départements avaient beaucoup de questions sur les autorisations, leniveau de difficulté, la mise en place et bien plus encore, et elles ont toutesdisparu en entrant dans la plate-forme de l'événement.
  • Support et formation : Airmeet s'engage auprès de sa communauté. Ellefournit un soutien tout au long du voyage. L'équipe de soutien a même offertune démonstration séparée aux représentants des départements afin de lesmettre à l'aise avec la plateforme.

    Pour les habituer à l'environnement virtuel, Airmeet a créé un site dedémonstration où les départements peuvent s'entraîner avec leurs collègueset entrer et sortir à leur guise.

    L'équipe de soutien d'Airmeet est disponible 24 heures sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7pour vous aider, de la création de l'événement à sa mise en ligne.

virtual event tables

La marche à suivre

Hazel explique : "Après l'événement, nous avons reçu beaucoup dedemandes de renseignements de la part de l'université sur la façon d'utiliserAirmeet, car l'expérience était structurée et formidable. L'expérience a été trèsappréciée car elle nous a permis d'interagir avec les étudiants plutôt que denous contenter d'une nouvelle session de webinaire ou d'un événement detype questions-réponses.

Nous réalisons maintenant que cette plateforme sera importante pour nous,même après la pandémie. Nous pouvons maintenant facilement atteindre lesétudiants en ligne, ce qui était un peu lourd auparavant. Elle offre égalementune grande flexibilité en termes de calendrier et de planification del'événement. Le monde ayant subi un choc économique, la participation auxmanifestations physiques sera limitée. En tenant compte de tout cela, Airmeetdevient une plateforme extrêmement importante pour faire participer lesétudiants et les aider à apprendre à distance.

Nous prévoyons également d'organiser un événement de type "happy hours"pour tout le monde, y compris les étudiants et le personnel, afin de favoriserl'interaction et la connexion en ces temps difficiles

Contactez-nous pour une visite guidée d'Airmeet dès aujourd'hui !

Virtual Events & Community Building Insights
Subscribe to Get Updates (we promise no spam)
S’abonner
Notifier de
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You might also like
Ishani Appaya
juin 10, 2021
Airmeet hosted RPG’s first virtual Innovation Festival this year. It had three main sessions with 1370 registrants, 1054 attendees and 13 speakers. The top 30 projects were commemorated in style. Attendees interacted with teams via booths, and the awards ceremony was pulled off with panache. Read on to learn how Airmeet facilitated this prestigious event.
Ishani Appaya
juin 8, 2021
NHRDN replicated its in-person showcase event in a virtual environment. They had 45+ corporates, around 15 CSRs and nearly 100 booths in attendance at their virtual event on Airmeet. Learn how they hosted and wowed 2000+ attendees at their first-ever virtual HR Showcase.
Ishani Appaya
mai 27, 2021
Impact Hub Bern shared their journey of working as an outreach partner for a major telecommunications partner to host a critical multi-session event powered by Airmeet and exceeded event goals even with a small event team. Leverage this case study to learn about how you can host your next immersive conference with exhibitors, sponsors, booths, networking, parallel sessions and more on Airmeet.

Vous souhaitez offrir à votre communauté une expérience interactive?

Essayez la plate-forme d'événements virtuels tout-en-un d'Airmeet.

Virtual Events

Florida International University successfully hosts ‘resource fair’ via Airmeet

Nishchal Dua
• July 8, 2020
United Nations Association in Canada
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Overview
Use Case:
Virtual Fair
Event Name:
University Resource Fair
Community Name:
Florida International University
Industry Segment:
Education

Florida International University (FIU), Miami, is ranked among America’s top-50 national public universities and is focused on the success of approximately 58,000 students. 

The Center for Student Engagement Department is one of the numerous departments at FIU, and it strives to find the best fit for its students  and to build affinity towards the institution. The department was tasked with the planning of  ‘convocation week’ event, and the University ‘resource fair’ was one of the events planned for the week. 

One of the key goals of the ‘resource fair’ is to outreach new students and provide them a platform to gather resources to lead a successful academic and campus life. It jumpstarts the learning by connecting students with representatives from more than 30 departments that service the students, including academic and career support departments, student affairs departments, and student health, wellness & safety departments. 

Airmeet Lounge

Challenges (and solutions)

Hazel Hooker, Program Director, Center for Student Engagement, FIU, says, “When we started planning the ‘resource fair’, we were worried about transitioning into a virtual framework while maintaining the same experience for departments and students. In our typical in-person fairs, we reserve a large ballroom and set out tables for the various participating departments. 

Based on the number of departments that accept our invitation, we create a floor plan and plan every requirement. On the day of the event, the students walk in and go around to meet the various departments and get their queries resolved.

We started looking for the right technology platform that would help us transform such an event into a virtual event. After some research, we found that Airmeet supports huge fairs and we were  thrilled to explore it.”

Let’s take a look at how FIU set-up a large-scale virtual fair and how you could use these learnings and leverage Airmeet for similar events as well.

Airmeet Lounge Attendees

Challenge 1: Pivot to virtual events seamlessly with 'Social Lounge'

When the Center for Student Engagement imagined moving their physical event framework with the table set-up into a virtual environment, they needed a platform that offered virtual tables. They didn’t want the event structure to be a series of lectures or panel discussions, as  that would have changed the complete dynamics of the event.

Solution:

Hazel says, “To organize an event we generally have to work with facilities, arrange tables, meet fire marshal’s standards and take into consideration a lot of logistics. With Airmeet, however, this became hassle-free and quick. 

Airmeet’s ‘Social Lounge’ was our large ballroom, and the virtual table setting replicated the physical event experience. We just needed to customize it to suit our needs. The department representatives had to just join in the meeting, take a seat at the virtual tables and talk to the students via live video-conferencing enabled on each table. As simple as that. We got a very positive feedback from all the departments about how wonderful the experience was. It blew everyone’s mind away.”

Here is what made it possible –

  • Social Lounge: Airmeet’s ‘Social Lounge’ feature allows you to connect with attendees on the same table via live feed. This powerful feature enables you to host a fair with multiple booths. It was especially beneficial to FIU as it offered intimate conversations between departments and students with video on the table. Once the students were done with one department, they could move on to the next and thereby explore the entire social room.

    The ‘Social Lounge’ feature is also remarkable as it offers a lot of customization. You can configure the number of tables, name of the tables, and even the name of the lounge.

    FIU renamed the ‘Social Lounge’ as the ‘University Resource Fair’. They created more than 30 tables for various departments and named each table accordingly.

    ‘Social Lounge’ automatically numbers each table. This helped them create a floor-plan, similar to a physical event, for both the departments and the students which made it easier for the students to locate where they needed to go. Since the tables have numbers and editable table titles, the floor plan spelt everything out and structured the event for all. It is fairly easy and quick to create a table setting and requires no logistic assistance and acquisition.

Florida International University Resource Fair
  • Real-time HD streaming: High-quality video and audio streaming makes the experience extremely professional and allows participants to maintain focus on the event goal.
  • Simple and secure registration: For attendee registration and authorization, anyone with the domain could register for the event. It was a lot easier as opposed to uploading thousands of names of potential registrants. It also ensured security because nobody could crash the event.
  • Screen-sharing: Airmeet enables screen-sharing in the ‘Social Lounge’. It makes presentations and product demos more immersive and engaging. For FIU, this was especially helpful as department representatives could share their screen and guide the students better.
  • Engagement features: While the ‘Social Lounge’ event is active, Airmeet still offers texting capability through its ‘Chat Box’ and ‘Q&A’ features. Departments could easily share resource links via the ‘Chat Box’ as opposed to printing and handing out material.

    Each department created a separate online folder to give handouts like brochures, flyers, other resources and sent it to students as a link in the ‘Chat Box’. The entire event seamlessly transitioned into the virtual mode and became eco-friendly as a bonus. 

"In order to transform a resource fair into a virtual event, we started looking for the right technology platform. After some research, we found that Airmeet supports huge fairs through the ‘social lounge’ feature and we were thrilled to explore it."

– Hazel Hooker, Program Director, Center for Student Engagement, Florida International University

“In order to transform a Resource Fair into a virtual event, we started looking for the right technology platform. After some research, we found that Airmeet supports huge fairs through the ‘social lounge’ feature and we were thrilled to explore it.”​

Hazel Hooker, Program Director Tweet

Challenge 2: Adapting to technology

Hazel says, “Learning a new technology can be challenging for some. But truthfully Airmeet was very easy to use. Even with different technical expertise levels, we were able to get everybody to use it without any glitches. To ensure that everybody understood instructions and people who missed out on the demo were well acquainted with the platform, we created a step-by-step guide.

Solution:

  • Ease-of-use/Easy-to-use: Airmeet works on all modern web browsers and does not require any downloadable component to join or host an event. It makes the platform inclusive for all. The departmental representatives had a lot of questions about permissions, difficulty level, set-up and more, and they all vanished as they entered the event platform.
  • Support and training: Airmeet is committed to its community. It provides support throughout the journey. The support team even offered a separate demo to departmental representatives in order to make them comfortable with the platform.

    To get them accustomed to the virtual environment, Airmeet created a demo site where departments could practice with their colleagues and go in-and-out as they pleased.

    Airmeet’s support team is available 24/7 for assistance — from creating the event to making it live.

virtual event tables

Way forward

Hazel says, “Post the event, we received a lot of inquiries from around the University about how to use Airmeet since the experience was structured and great. The experience was much admired as it allowed us to interact with students rather than just doing another webinar session or a Q&A kind of event. 

We now realize that this platform will be significant to us even post the pandemic. We can now easily reach students online which was a bit cumbersome before. It also provides a lot of flexibility in terms of timing and planning the event. As the world has taken an economic hit, attending physical events will be limited. So factoring all this together, Airmeet becomes an extremely critical platform for engaging students and helping them learn remotely.

We also plan to host a ‘happy hours’ style event for everyone, including students and staff, to drive interaction and connection during these tough times.

Reach out to us for an Airmeet walkthrough today!

Virtual Events & Community Building Insights
Subscribe to Get Updates (we promise no spam)
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
You might also like
Ishani Appaya
June 10, 2021
Airmeet hosted RPG’s first virtual Innovation Festival this year. It had three main sessions with 1370 registrants, 1054 attendees and 13 speakers. The top 30 projects were commemorated in style. Attendees interacted with teams via booths, and the awards ceremony was pulled off with panache. Read on to learn how Airmeet facilitated this prestigious event.
Ishani Appaya
June 8, 2021
NHRDN replicated its in-person showcase event in a virtual environment. They had 45+ corporates, around 15 CSRs and nearly 100 booths in attendance at their virtual event on Airmeet. Learn how they hosted and wowed 2000+ attendees at their first-ever virtual HR Showcase.
Ishani Appaya
May 27, 2021
Impact Hub Bern shared their journey of working as an outreach partner for a major telecommunications partner to host a critical multi-session event powered by Airmeet and exceeded event goals even with a small event team. Leverage this case study to learn about how you can host your next immersive conference with exhibitors, sponsors, booths, networking, parallel sessions and more on Airmeet.

Interested in Giving Your Community an Interactive Experience?

Try Airmeet's All-In-One Virtual Events Platform.